ALAA History

The History of Alabama Academy of Audiology

In the Fall of 1997, a small group of dedicated members gathered in Birmingham at the home of Dr. BettieBorton to create a state organization solely of, by, and for audiologists. The purpose of this organization was to address the need for relevant continuing education, increased consumer awareness and protection, as well as professional and legislative concerns for the audiologists of Alabama and the patients whom they served. The organization was also committed to assisting audiology students in our state with opportunities for learning, research, and various pre-professional activities.

The organization originally had approximately 30 charter members, and was incorporated as a non-profit under the name of Professional Audiology Society of Alabama (PASA). Growth was slow but steady, and current membership has grown dramatically, with members from several states including Mississippi, Georgia, Florida, and Tennessee. PASA undertook an ambitious plan to offer an annual state convention featuring nationally recognized hearing healthcare experts and technologies to more effectively meet the needs of Alabama’s audiologists and has successfully met that goal. Over the course of the last decade, conventions have been held in Alabama at The Grand Hotel in Point Clear, The Perdido Beach Resort in Gulf Shores, and The Wynfrey in Birmingham, as well as at Callaway Gardens in Georgia, and SanDestinHilton in Florida. Speakers have included Dr. James “Jay” Hall, Dr. Dave Fabry, Dr. Charles Berlin, Dr. David Zapala and many others.

In 2007, under the guidance of Dr. Tom Borton, the Board of Directors voted to more closely affiliate with the American Academy of Audiology, and changed the name of the organization to The Alabama Academy of Audiology (ALAA). Recently, ALAA was the first state convention to provide a convention program with multiple Tier One offerings, and was the first state academy to contribute funds to the American Academy of Audiology Foundation (AAAF) in support of the new American Board of Audiology (ABA) national examination initiative.


Dr. Aaron Johnson

Dr. Bettie Borton 1997-2000

Dr. George Murphree 2000-2002

Dr. Robin Auerbach 2002-2003

Dr. Steve Charlton 2003-2005

Dr. Steve Smith 2005-2007

Dr. Thomas Borton 2007-2009

Dr. Dana Walchek 2009-2011

Dr. Tim Holston 2011-2013

Dr. Shandi L. Dabbs 2013-2015

D. Bobby McClung, Au.D. 2015-2017

Dr. Wilder Roberts, Au.D., CCC-A

Current President: Carrie Overschmidt, Au.D.


Dr. Curt Smith

Dr. James “Jay” Hall

Dr. Thomas Borton

Sandra Cook, M.S.

Dr. Carole Johnson